National Collegiate Basketball Hall of Fame

National Collegiate Basketball Hall of Fame
and the "College Basketball Experience"
Located in the Sprint Center, Kansas City, MO

Inaugural Class of 2007
John Wooden- University of California- Los Angeles
10 Championships, four 30-0 perfect seasons, 88 straight wins. He posted a 620-147 record in 27 seasons at UCLA. His Bruins won 10 national championships, including a run of seven straight.
Dean Smith-University of North Carolina
He complied a record of 879-254 at North Carolina. His 879 wins are the most in NCAA history. His 65 NCAA tournament wins are also the most in history. He lead North Carolina to 11 Final Fours and 2 NCAA Championships.
Bill Russell- University of San Francisco
Along with teammate K.C. Jones, he lead San Francisco to 55 straight wins, two straight undeated seasons and consecutive NCAA Tournament championships in 1955 and 1956.
Oscar Robertson- University of Cincinnati
the NCAA named their player of the year trophy after him. He consistently averaged 30 points per game at Cincinnati (before the 3 point line!) He led the nation in scoring during three varsity seasons and established 14 NCAA records.
James Naismith- Kansas University
the Father of Basketball, invented the game at a YMCA gym. The first basketball coach at Kansas University.
Charles "Lefty" Driesell, lead four teams to the NCAA tournament.
Phog Allen- Kansas University
Adolph Rupp- University of Kentucky
Henry Iba-Oklahoma State University
John McClendon- Tennessee State
Guy Lewis- University of Houston
Norm Stewart-University of Missouri-Columbia
Vic Bubas-Duke University
Kareem Abdul-Jabbar- University of California- Los Angeles
He turned down $1million from the Harlem Globetrotters to play with Milwaukee.
Austin Carr- University of Notre Dame
Dick Groat- Duke University
Dick Barnett- Tennesse State University
Class of 2008
Arnie Ferrin- Utah University, Jim Phelan- Mount St. Mary's, Charles Barkley-Auburn University, Danny Manning- University of Kansas, Nolan Richardson- Western Texas College, Tulsa, Arkansas, Billy Packer-Wake Forest and Broadcaster, Dick Vitale-Broadcaster.
Class of 2009
Magic Johnson-Michigan State, Larry Bird-Indiana State, Wayman Tisdale- Oklahoma, Travis Grant-Kentucky State, Jud Heathcote- Montana Coach, Gene Bartow-Coach at various Universities including Central Missouri, Memphis State, Illinois and UCLA, Walter Byers-first executive director of NCAA tournament, Bill Wall- first executive director of USA Basketball.
Class of 2010
Jerry West- West Virginia, Tex Winter- Marquette Head Coach, Kansas State, Washington, Northwestern, Long Beach State, Davey Whitney- Alcorn State, David Thompson- North Carolina State, Sidney Wicks- UCLA, Christian Laettner- Duke, Tom Jerstedt- NCAA, Wayne Duke- NCAA.
Class of 2011
Ralph Sampson- Virginia, Cazzie Russell, Michigan, Chris Mullen- St. John's, Eddie Sutton- Oklahoma Coach, James Worthy- North Carolina, Bob Knight- Coach, Eddie Einhorn and Joe Vancisin.
Class of 2012
Pattrick Ewing- Georgetown, Phil Ford-North Carolina, Kenny Sailors- Wyoming, Joe B. Hall, Kentucky Coach, Dave Robbins- West Virginia Coach, Clyde Lovellette- Kansas, Willis Reed- Grambling, Earl Monroe- Winston-Salem State, Joe Dean, Jim Host.
Class of 2013
Xavier McDaniel-Wichita State, Bob Hopkins-Grambling, Elvin Hayes-Houston, Marques Johnson-UCLA, Tom McMillen-Maryland, Gene Keady- coach at Purdue, Rollie Massimino- coach at Villanova, George Raveling-contributor, George Killian-contributor, Loyola Chicago- team.  
Class of 2014
Zelmo Beaty-Prairie View A&M, Dale Brown- Coach LSU, Howard Garfinkel- contributor, Darrell Griffith- Louisville, Grant Hill- Duke, Shaquille O'Neal- LSU, Glenn Wilkes, Sr- contributor/coach Stetson, Gary Williams- coach Maryland. 


Become a fan and follow the

Kansas City Sports History Facebook Group 

All of the clipart and images used on this website are for educational and historical reference.