Pro Soccer Nicknames

  • Print
Professional Soccer Team Nicknames
Major League Soccer 
Pro Team Nickname Image Gallery
Atlanta United FC

Austin FC

FC Cincinnati 

Chicago Fire FC
Named for the famous "Chicago Fire".  Mascot: Sparky.

Los Angeles Galaxy

Charlotte FC - coming 2022

Colorado Rapids
Named for the many rapids flowing from the Colorado Mountains.  Mascot: Rapid Man.

New York Red Bulls
Formerly the New York/New Jersey Metro Stars until 2006 when the team was bought by the drink "Red Bull".

Columbus Crew
Named for the numerous Construction (Crew) Companies.  Mascot: Crew Cat.

New England Revolution
Name for the American Revolution in this area.   Mascot: Slyde

FC Dallas
Originally named the Burn.  In preparing for their move to Frisco, they will change their nickname to FC Dallas for the 2005 Season.

Houston Dynamo FC 
Original name for the Team in San Jose was the Clash, until 2000,changed to Earthquakes. 
When it was moved to Houston in 2006.  the original name was to be the Houston 1836, 
then switched to Houston Dynamo.

Inter Miami CF - 

Minnesota United FC

FC Montreal 

Nashville SC 

D.C. United (Washington DC)
Mascot: Talon the Eagle.

Sporting Kansas City
Originally named the Wiz (short for Wizards), for a medieval,  Knights of the Round Table theme, chosen for its uniqueness.  Renamed Wizards (the original contest winning entry by Sarah Starr).  Renamed Sporting Kansas City for the 2011 season.  Other finalists were Outlaws, Express, Bandits.

Los Angeles FC
starting: 2016

Real Salt Lake
Since 2005.  Team name to be known as RSL as a second reference, pertaining to Real Madrid, a Spanish powerhouse team.

Toronto FC
new team since May 2006 and first outside of the USA

Sacramento Republic FC- coming TBA 

Seattle Sounders FC

San Jose Earthquakes
Named after the earthquakes in the area. Original name for the Team in San Jose was the Clash, until 2000,changed to Earthquakes.  The team was moved to Houston in 2006 but returned to the league in 2008.

St. Louis City SC- coming 2023 

Philadelphia Union
since 2010

Vancouver Whitecaps FC
Whitecaps is reference to the city's oceanic location and was also the name of a North American Soccer League team the city had in the 1980's.   Since 2011

Portland Timbers

Orlando City SC
New team since 2015

New York City FC
New team since 2015

In August, 2001, the National Professional Soccer League has disbanded and 
reorganized as the MajorIndoor Soccer League, which originally existed from 1978 to 1992.  On 12/19/2001, the MISL  merged with the World Indoor Soccer League to form a single entity for the 2002-3 season.
Baltimore Blast
Stockton Cougars
Chicago Storm
Philadelphia KiXX

New Jersey Ironmen
Orlando Sharks
Detroit Ignition
Milwaukee Wave

starting in 2010
Atlanta Silverbacks
Carolina Railhawks FC
Crystal Palace Baltimore
Miami FC
Minnesota Thunder
Montreal Impact
St. Louis TBA
Tampa Bay Rowdies
Vancouver Whitecaps

Calgary Storm
Atlanta Silverbacks
Edmonton Aviators
Charleston Battery
Milwaukee Wave
United Montreal Impact
Minnesota Thunder
Puerto Rico Islanders
Portland Timbers
Richmond Kickers
Seattle Sounders
Rochester Raging Rhinos
Vancouver Whitecaps FC
Syracuse Salty Dogs
Torono Lynx
Virginia Beach Mariners

Arizona Sandsharks
Monterey La Raza
San Diego Sockers
Dallas Sidekicks
Portland Pride

Los Angeles United
Sacramento Knights

W-LEAGUE W-1 and W-2 Teams 
Denver Diamonds
Colorado Gold
Fort Collins Force
Delaware Genies
Tampa Bay Extreme
Jacksonville Jade
Atlanta Classics
Chicago Cobras
Rockford Dactyls
Indiana Blaze
Kansas City Mystics
Kentucky Fillies
Maryland Pride
Boston Renegades
Springfield Sirens
Kalamazoo Quest
Jackson Calypso
New Hampshire Lady Falcons
New Jersey Lady Stallions
New Jersey Wildcats
Long Island Riders
New York Magic
Rochester Ravens
Raleigh Wings
Charlotte Lady Eagles
Piedmont Spark
Cleveland Eclipse
Cincinnati Ladyhawks
Oklahoma Outrage
Rhode Island Rays
Dallas-North Texas Heat
Austin Lady Lone Stars
Houston Tornados
Northern Virginia Majestics
Laval Dynamites
New Brunswick Power
Ottawa Fury
Toronto Inferno

(the league logo is modeled after Mia Hamm, perhaps women's most popular player ever.)
Saint Louis Athletica
Boston Breakers
Chicago Red Stars
Sky Blue FC (NY/NJ Area)
Los Angeles Sol
FC Gold Pride (SF Bay Area)
Washington (DC) Freedom


United Soccer League First Division

Atlanta Silverbacks
Carolina RailHawks
Charleston Battery
Miamia FC Blues

Minnesota Thunder
Montreal Impact
Portland Timbers
Puerto Rico Islanders

Rochester Rhinos
Seattle Sounders
Vancouver Whitecaps
United Soccer League Second Division

Bermuda Hogges
Charlotte Eagles
Cleveland City Stars
Crystal Palace Baltimore

Harrisburg City Islanders
Pittsburgh Riverhounds
Real Maryland Monarchs
Richmond Kickers

Western Mass Pioneers
Wilmington Hammerheads

Premier Development League Soccer

Abbotsford Mariners
Atlanta Silverbacks U23's
Austin Aztex U23's
BYU Cougars
Bakersfield Brigade
Baton Rouge Capitals
Bradenton Academics
Brooklyn Knights
Cape Cod Crusaders
Carolna Dynamo
Cary RailHawks U23's
Cascade Surge
Central Florida Kraze
Chicago Fire
Cincinnati Kings
Cleveland Internationals
Colorado Rapids U23's
DFW Tornados
Des Moines Menace
El Paso Patriots
Fort Wayne Fever
Fredericksburg Gunners
Fresno Fuego
Hampton roads Piranhas
Houston Leones
Indiana Invaders
Kalamazoo Outrage
Kansas City Brass
See the K.C. Teams History Museum 
Lancaster Rattlers
Larado Heat
Long Island Rough Riders
Los Angeles Legends
Michigan Bucks
Mississippi Brilla
Nashville Metros
New Hampshire Phantoms
New Jersey Rangers
New Orleans Shell Shockers
Newark Ironbound Express
Northern Virginia Royals
Ocean City Barons
Ogden Outlaws
Orange County Blue Star
Ottawa Fury
Palm Beach Pumas
Panama City Pirates
Reading Rage
Rhode Island Stingrays
Richmond Kickers Future
San Fernando Valley Quakes
San Francisco Seals
San Jose Frogs
Southern California Seahorses
Spokane Spiders
Springfield Demize
St. Louis Lions
Tacoma Tide
Thunder Bay Chill
Toronto Lynx
Vancouver Whitecaps Residency
Ventura County Fusion
Vermont Voltage
Virginia Legacy
West Michigan Edge
West Virginia Chaos
Westchester Flames
Yakima Reds